You know what’s hard? Becoming a parent. You know what’s even harder? Being told you are doing everything the wrong way when you just became a new parent.

My baby girl is only 8 1/2 months old and I can’t even count how many times I’ve been called out for doing something ‘wrong’ by fellow Moms. And that’s what gets me, the people you expect to be your biggest support, your cheerleaders and those you can lean on are the ones yelling at your face (or over the keyboard and screen), putting you down and telling you, you are doing a horrible job. There are so many things wrong with this.

Do you want to Breastfeed in public without a cover? Power to you lady. You feed that baby, regardless of the stares, comments, and hate.

Do you want to cover while breastfeeding? Power to you lady. You feed that baby, regardless of the stares, comments, and hate.

Do you want to use formula? POWER TO YOU LADY. You feed that baby, regardless of the stares, comments, and hate.

*Seriously just feed your child. Fed is Best. But that’s a whole other Blog*

Do you want to start feeding solids early? Try Baby led weaning? Start sleep training? Want to use cloth diapers? Disposable? Want to put your kid in swimming? Want to stay home? Do you want to be a full-time Mom? Would you like to return to work ASAP? Would you like to keep sugar away from your baby for as long as possible? Want to give your kid some ice cream?

POWER TO YOU.

Ladies, please hear me loud and clear. We are all doing our best. You send me an article on one side of the argument and I can shoot one back at you from the other. And you know what? In the end? It doesn’t matter.

Because when I breastfeed my baby in public, it’s me and my baby. When I stay at home and don’t return to work, that’s between me and my family.

God has designed us to live in a community. We do our best when we are surrounded by one another, cheering each other on and yet somehow when we need community the most (Hello mother of a newborn), is when we get targeted and exiled. I know I’m not the only Mom out there who has felt this way. The constant thought of “am I doing this right?”, “it’s not how she does it”, “Am I hurting my child?” is exhausting and terrifying and is only encouraged by all the mom to mom arguments. And frankly, I’ve had enough. I’m over it. But if you’re not, here’s a letter from me to you.

Dear Mama.

You are doing an incredible job. I know the big choices you have made have been hard, you’ve questioned yourself about it daily, and I know the day to day decisions are equally as difficult. But you are doing an incredible job. You are loving your child(ren) with all you’ve got, you are taking care of their needs, you have put a roof over their little head(s) and you make sure they are fed. You are a ROCKSTAR. I think you are beautiful in those sweat pants and that ponytail. In fact, you should take a selfie to remember how amazing you look today because girl you’ve got it going on. Your kid(s) look up to you in amazement, they know you to be the best person in the world. The kindest, the funniest, the strongest, the bravest and the best at giving hugs. YOU are incredible. YOU are an amazing Mom. And you should buy yourself some flowers to remind yourself that YOU matter. I love you. I think you’re doing a great job. So keep up the good work!

Sincerely, another Mom.

It’s time for us all to come together for a group hug, stop the judgment and sing if your happy and you know it with our littles. You think I’m kidding but I’m serious. Grab your kiddo, make them laugh a little harder, squeeze them a little tighter and hold them a little longer before bed tonight. You are doing a great job. Do yourself a favor and scroll past the mom fights, walk away from arguments that don’t need to be had and just live the best way you know how. Teach your littles to be brave, strong, to stand up for themselves but to also be excepting of others. Oh, what a world it would be if we all just truly loved one another without judgment.

You can do it. Go tackle the world with kindness.

Julia & Neal Maternity

One thought on “Mom Life: Loving your fellow Moms

  1. This is awesome, Julia. And definitely timely. i don’t know why everyone is so critical of everyone else – your child is happy and healthy – obviously you are a great mom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

