It sounds kind of funny to say my 8 (almost 9) month old has been teaching me things. Shouldn’t it be the other way around? Sure I’m trying to teach her what “no” means (figure it out Hunny, chords are not for chewing!), how to stack things, how to eat from a spoon and how to STOP MOVING WHILE I CHANGE YOUR DIAPER (something I’m not sure babies ever learn…). And in the future, I hope to teach her how to be kind. How to be brave when the world is trying to tear her dreams down. To push on. I hope she learns how to be accepting of others and encouraging to those who need it. I want her to have courage. To stand up for what she believes in, even when it’s hard and she ends up standing alone. Oh, the things I want to teach her. But for now, it’s about learning to walk, repeating “dada” and hugging her when she falls.

And lately, God has been showing me all the things that I can learn from her. Starting with her name.

ZOE. Her name literally means “life”. My favorite definition is “Absolute fullness of life, life which belongs to God, life real and genuine, a life active and vigorous, to last forever.” We named her this for many reasons (that maybe one day I will write about in another post), but when we say her name… we are speaking this definition over her. May she have the fullness of life, a life that belongs to God. And isn’t this the life that we, as Christians should also desire? A life REAL and GENUINE. ACTIVE and VIGOROUS. The Lord is teaching me what that means, and how to get there.

|| Father, please continue to teach me what it means to live this life to the fullest for you. Help me be active and genuine in my faith, may others see You in everything I do and say. ||

JOY. It doesn’t matter if Zoe has had a terrible nights sleep, hates her food options and has a dirty diaper. There are some things that just make that girl LAUGH at any time. Her laugh is the most joyful noise I have ever heard. God has been challenging me to laugh without hesitation like her. She likes it? It brings her joy? She lets you know. I want to find joy all around my day, even when I’ve had a terrible nights sleep, I haven’t eaten well and there are things that are not going my way.

|| Lord help me find joy in the littlest of things. Help me laugh without hesitation and see Your beauty all around. Help me shake the feelings of doubt when I’m concerned with what others may think, help me laugh at those doubts instead of being fearful of them. ||

TRUST.  This girls trust is mind blowing. She trusts us with her life every day. Not that she has a choice. And that’s part of the beauty. When she trips over her feet, she looks at me and trusts that I will come wipe her tears. When I feed her, she is trusting that it will be good and filling. I often put my hand under her butt and she just decides to sit, knowing my hand will become her chair (Is there anything cuter?).  I want to trust God like that. Zoe doesn’t have any control over her day. I want to reach a place where I can wake up and say “Okay God, let’s see what You have for me today” and go with the flow, trusting He’s worked it out before me. I am bothered when things don’t go the way I’ve planned. It bugs me more than I’d like to admit actually. I like plans. I LOVE plans. I like to know what the day will look like, who I can expect to see and know what I will be doing. But God is challenging my heart to follow His voice, to allow Him to lead me.

|| King of my heart, rule over me. Mold me into who You have created me to be. Soften my heart towards Your voice so I can follow without double guessing if it was really You speaking. Help me trust You, Lord. I give You complete control. ||



Mathew 18:3 says: “And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”.  
Some versions say “turn from your sins” instead of “change”.

I can’t help but think about this verse and the impact it has on my life.  On anyone’s life. “Turn from your sins, and become like little children.” I by no means have this all figured out, I’m still learning from day to day. And honestly, I hope I never stop learning. But I strongly feel like this isn’t something we can just push under the rug for another day. “You will not enter the kingdom of heaven.” sounds pretty serious to me.

Father, thank You for being patient with me. Thank You for always seeing my heart, for loving me unconditionally and for always having plans that are good for my life. Continue to teach me. I give You full access to my heart, my soul, my mind. Leave no stone unturned, shape me, mold me, use me, Lord. Please give me wisdom as I continue to dig into Your word, open my eyes to the wonderful things you have in store for me. Thank You for Zoe, for creating her, for her giggles, for her love. Help me love her like You love her. Lord, use her to continue to teach me all about You. Thank You, Lord, for another beautiful day full of You. 

I can’t wait to see what else Zoe will teach me this week.

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18472781/?claim=q5cjxvm85fb”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

