One of the first questions people will ask you about being pregnant is “How are you feeling?” To which I always want to respond “in regards to what?”. I HAVE SO MANY FEELINGS YOU HAVE TO NARROW IT DOWN! – seriously.

Pregnancy is a lot of things. It’s beautiful and kind of creepy, it’s feeling the baby kick and feeling so much love but also being weirded out that there is an alien that you don’t know anything about inside you. It’s choosing a human’s name for the rest of time and also wondering how many times it will poop in a day. It’s a lot to wrap your brain around.

I am SO glad to say that this pregnancy has been much better in many ways than my last. I’m just over 16 weeks pregnant right now and if you’ve read “Why Being Pregnant Was The Worst Time Of My Life” on my blog, then you know the last pregnancy wasn’t all rainbows and lollipops. For a lot of reasons. I was sick for 25 weeks, I lost 20 pounds before I started to gain, I was taking 7 Diclectin (pills that help with nausea) a day and still getting sick, I hit the lowest emotional place in my life where I prayed the Lord would take my life, I was lost, depressed, scared and felt ‘stuck’.

But I am happy to report this time around I didn’t lose any weight from being sick (although I have maintained instead of gaining), I am ALREADY feeling so much better, I am only on 1 Diclectin a day and my mental health is doing great! So much so, that I can tell I am becoming a bit lethargic in my routine of life and am taking a day this week to recharge and get back on track. Mental health is no joke, friends. Take care of yourselves.

A lot of friends ask me what it’s like to be pregnant, other than sickness. And OH the answers I could give…

Pregnancy is going shopping for supper and returning with nothing but $50 of junk food…

Pregnancy is ordering McDonald’s at 10 pm only to get home and realize how much you DON’T want McDonald’s…

Pregnancy is having so many emotions at once even YOU can’t figure out why you are crying…

Pregnancy is sneezing and peeing at the same time…

Pregnancy is crying at every movie ever and not understanding why…

Pregnancy is spending all day with your arms around the toilet trying to convince yourself you’ll feel better tomorrow…

Pregnancy is spending 9 months (ish) thinking about how many ways you could screw this up…

Pregnancy is spending 9 months (ish) thinking about what the human inside of you looks like and imagining yourself holding them in your arms…

Pregnancy is never sleeping on your stomach again…

Pregnancy is peeing. All. The. Time.

Pregnancy is a dream come true for a lot of people…

Pregnancy is a lot of women’s worst nightmare…

And it’s all okay. What’s it like to be pregnant? I don’t really know. Depends on the day you are asking me. But here’s what I do know. I am thankful for this life inside of me, I know he/she has a purpose on this earth, I know that I have a purpose on this earth and I know that God loves us.

I say it’s all okay, to feel all these things while being pregnant, and friends I assure you it is. Even if you are not okay right now, It’s okay to feel that way. One of the best lessons in life I’ve learned is that it’s okay not to be okay. Why is this so important? Because once you understand that, the guilt is gone. Feel your emotions, deal with them, and move forward. Again, take care of yourselves, dear friends. YOU ARE LOVED.

Before I sign off I just want to add one more thing. If you have a pregnant friend you are close enough to that you feel you can be honest with each other… heck, if you have A FRIEND, (pregnant or not) that you feel close to, check in with them today. Be real and raw, honest. Ask how they are really doing. Maybe someone in your life needs you right now, needs a hug or emotional support or really could be encouraged by a coffee. Encouragement goes such a long way… it’s always nice to know someone’s thinking about you.

Xo.

Leave a Reply

