Neil always knew he wanted to be a Father. Within the first few weeks of dating, he had told me that if I didn’t want kids we shouldn’t be together because he was going to be a Dad… and a good one. 7 years later and here we are! Neil,  I love you lots and lots.

friesen-family_2016-002

You are kind, gentle, goofy and loving towards our beautiful daughter. I couldn’t ask for more. I love watching you read to her, I love when you flip her upside down and her eyes get REAL wide, and I love how she runs to you when you get home because she misses her Dad.

Fatherhood is hard.
Parenthood is hard.

Friesen_web006

It is a constant journey of learning and changing as you go. Figuring it out while trying to look like you’ve got it all under control. But does anyone really have it ALL under control?
WE DON’T!

Really what I wanted to say today is this: Parenthood is hard. Marriage is hard. But when you love someone enough, it makes it easy. Why?  Because the answer is going to always be the same, “I love you… let’s figure this out”.

Friesen 2017 - 008

And I am very thankful that that has been Neils attitude since day 1 in marriage. Sadly I have had my moments of “Here’s your get out of jail free card, Hunny! GO!” But he’s never taken me up on it (THANK GOODNESS). I haven’t had a moment like that in a few years, but every now and then I think back to those first 2 years of our lives together as a married couple. They weren’t extra hard or anything, it was just such a BIG change of life and I didn’t know how to handle it. Now that we have Zoe and Little Bean on the way, it’s another big change, but I’m better equipped because I have Neil by my side.

Today’s post is pretty short, I know. But I just REALLY want to say, Happy Father’s Day Neil. I can’t imagine doing this life without you, and I am so thankful that God gave me you.

And here’s to all the Dad’s out there, doing their best and trying to figure it all out. You guys are amazing. Thank you for sticking around, for trying hard, working hard, for loving your children. We don’t say it enough, but we love you.

Leave a Reply

